Do You Have a Work Facebook Account

A friend of mine was telling me that she was encouraged by her co-workers to get a work Facebook account.  This was after they realized she wasn’t Facebook friends with any of them on her person account.  She likes to keep her space between work and personal life.  The reply was that she needed to make a second Facebook account.  I wonder how many people do this.  She said a couple of her co-workers do have a work account.  Now that I think about it, I have seen some friends befriend me from more than one account or show up more than once when I search them.  I wonder if any of those second accounts were specifically for work.

Now I wonder what you post on a work Facebook page.  Do you now have to post your pics and thoughts twice?  Do you analyze what you want to post to decide if it is work-worthy?  I don’t think I understand the point of a work page but I wonder if other people do this and if they could explain.  I get that you want to get to know each other better, but if you really wanted to know each other better, wouldn’t you allow them to see your personal account, maybe just putting certain privacy setting in place?  Or is it more about what other people will post.  Are you afraid a person will post a drunk pic of you and tag you in it before you realize it?  Are you afraid they will say something on your page like, “I see why you hate those jokers at your job”, or maybe you’re afraid they will put something grotesque or immature on your page and it may reflect badly on you with you co-workers.  I completely understand if you’re afraid of ANY of these things which brings me back to the question of why do you need to connect to them through Facebook if you’re not trying to be on that level with them?  Why would you want to go through the work of managing two pages and trying to filter what you put on the second one?  Do you just upload family pics and leave it at that?  I guess I get that.

Just wondering…does anyone do this?

Leave a Reply

