What everyone is probably writing about

I listen to music genres in spurts.  For a while I will listen to a hip-hop station then I will listen to a pop station for a while and so forth.  Lately I’ve just been listening to CD’s.  Today I guess my mood switched again and I turned on a pop station.  As I was pulling into my garage I heard the radio DJ talk about a loss.  Then I heard him say Kidd Kraddick was the loss.  This sort of thing is one of those shocks that never loses it’s spark.  You always begin the day one way and then out of the blue hear about something unfortunate that happened…whether to someone you know or not….and it has some type of effect on you because it’s simply unexpected. 
Kidd Kraddick has been a radio personality for decades.  Even people who don’t listen to radio morning shows have heard his name for one reason or another.  I just read a note from someone who has been listening to his show for 25 years.  Imagine how many people have been listening that long.  What an impact this one man has made.  Sure he has had help from his crew and producers and such.  And sure many people do not know him personally.  Still, it’s almost like losing someone you talk to on the phone every day.  Just think…for 25 years (or however long you’ve been listening) you get in the car Monday through Friday and listen to the radio on your way to work.  For Twenty-Five Years his voice is in your car.  You even make comments or answer his questions even though you know he can’t hear you.  You laugh at his silly stories and you tear up when he tells stories about families his show wants to help because they have had a hard time.  You learn so many things about his daughter and his wife/ex-wife and many personal things that generally you only hear from your friends.  For all these years he has shared his life with you and now when you turn on the radio, you will probably have to remind yourself why you no longer hear this voice you have grown accustomed to..that has become a part of your daily life.
It is always unfortunate when someone is lost.  I suppose in this case, the impact is to an unimagineable number of people because of the wide reach media has these days. I suppose the charities like “Kidd’s Kids” will continue in his honor…at least in my opinion they should.

One thought on “What everyone is probably writing about

Leave a Reply

