Curiouser and Curiouser!

Before yet another Independence Day ends, I figured I’d disperse a  little random 4th of July history.  Today I saw an episode of Warehouse 13 in which a character named “Alice” said “Curiouser and Curiouser”.  The “Alice” in this episode was the one created by Lewis Carroll, but of course with a “Warehouse 13” twist on the story.  I wondered to myself where that phrase came from.  I hear it every once in a while and I wasn’t sure what movie or show it originated from so I looked it up.  It was first introduced in Lewis Carroll’s novel Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland which was published on July 4, 1865.  I have seen the movie representation of “Alice in Wonderland” in so many different forms and version yet I did not remember that line.  I’m sure I’ve heard it a ridiculous amount of times and never realized that Alice herself was the first one to say it.

That’s my random bit of info for the day!

2 thoughts on “Curiouser and Curiouser!

  1. Thanks! I thought so too. As a side note, obviously Alice meant that things were getting stranger and stranger, but she was so flabbergasted by what she saw that this grammatically incorrect phrase came out of her mouth instead.

Leave a Reply

