The Guilty Dance?

So I was standing in line at a convenience store dancing around a little with a full bladder.  I had just left the movies and thought I could make it home rather than using the bathroom there (at the theater).  Those restrooms were kind of gross the last couple times I went in them.
Anyways…while standing in line I noticed a guy standing in a section near the register.  He wasn’t looking at the products.  He wasn’t even facing them, he was sort of facing the register but looked like he was playing or texting on his phone.  I thought it was odd but then thought maybe he was waiting for someone who was in line in front of me.  When the guy in front of me left, that guy did not.  However, once I rung out and walked out the door, I saw him out of the corner of my eye head toward the door.  I wasn’t sure what that meant.  Why did he suddenly decide to leave now?  He didn’t buy anything, he didn’t walk out with anybody.  So of course I get suspicious and look back to see how close he is to me and what direction he is going.  When I get to my car, I look at the reflection in the window to see where he is.  There was a cop car in the parking lot and I figured no one would try anything with the cop there…but you never know right?  So I saw that he was no longer walking in my direction so I got in the car, locked the door, and kept my eye on him in the rear-view mirror just in case.  I see him open the back door of the cop car for a second which was perplexing for obvious reasons.  Then I see him get in the front seat and drive the car away.  It made me wonder…was he sticking around in the store because he saw something suspicious?  The idea of him being a cop never dawned on me because he was in plain clothes.  In fact, the cop in the passenger seat was in full uniform.  I thought about the fact that he walked out right after I was finished at the register.  I wonder if I looked suspicious because I was moving around so awkwardly waiting to get to the front of the line.  I suppose a look of having to pee real bad could be confused with a look of intention to do something criminal.  Maybe I looked nervous and suspicious.  At the time, I thought I was doing a good job of looking like I was just moving around in place because I didn’t want to stand still….rather than looking like I had to go real bad.   But I guess in hind sight, all that dancing around trying to hold it could have made me look guilty..of what?  I don’t know.  It was just a thought.
Anyways..that’s my rant for the day.

2 thoughts on “The Guilty Dance?

    • I still think he’s suspicious. Why was he driving the police car in plain clothes with a uniformed cop in the passenger seat? That was just odd. Plausible yes…but still odd.

Leave a Reply

